Cyphostemma cirrhosum

Family: Vitaceae

Species: Cyphostemma cirrhosum (Droog-my-keel, Wildedruif)

Every now and then I find something that tickles me… and today I have discovered one… a lovely name for one of the plants on my farm.

Do you know a plant with the name ‘Droog-my-keel’ (Afrikaans, directly translated it mean dry-my-throat)? What a lovely Afrikaans name!

According to Elsa Pooley in A Field Guide to Wild Flowers of Kwazulu-Natal and the Eastern Region the berries of this plant is edible and is also named ‘Wildedruif’ (Wild grape). No English name is mentioned in the book.

I’m sure you will agree that it looks very tempting, and for sure I am going to try one soon! According to Pooley the roots are poisonous so I will rather stay away from that…

2 comments on “Cyphostemma cirrhosum

  1. Pingback: Edible plants on the farm | Aylestone 8

Leave a Reply

