Pyrgomorphidae species

Order: Orthoptera

Family: Pyrgomorphidae

Species: Phymateus leprosus

Green pronotrum and mouthparts of Phymateus leprosus

I don’t have a picture of the shiny green and black nymphs of Phymateus leprosus which is said to be an occational pest on citrus trees in the Eastern Cape, South Africa. According to Picker, Griffiths & Weaving* human fatalities from ingestion are known.

Species: Phymateus viridipes

Phymateus viridipes, Green Milkweed Locust

The Green Milkweed locust produce a bad smelling foam from the thoracic joints. One day I found about a hundred nymphs on a milkweed bush (Asclepias physocarpa), and with the help of one Danaus chrisippus caterpillar they consumed the whole bush in a day.

Phymateus viridipes nymph and Danaus chrisippus caterpillar

Species: Zonocerus elegans

Zonocerus elegans nymph on Lantana camara

Species: Zonocerus variegatus 

I often find Zonocerus variegatus on Lantana camara, one of the worst alien invader species in our area.

Zonocerus variegatus nymph on Campuloclinium macrocephalum

The smaller nymphs are abundant on the notorious Poppom weed Campuloclinium macrocephalum.

* Picker, Griffiths & Weaving. 2004. Field Guide of Insects of South Africa. Struik Nature, Cape Town

4 comments on “Pyrgomorphidae species

    • Dit bly vir my fassinerend. Kyk so oor ‘n halfuur weer, ek gaan die post bietjie verander. Ek SUKKEL net met my opvangs!!!

      Ek het net besluit dat al my insekfoto’s dalk vir iemand iets kan beteken wat self probeer identifiseer soos ek, of wat altyd goeters soek vir ‘n skoolprojek.

      Eeeeendag sal ek klaar wees met huisbou en universiteitsgelde betaal, dan kan ek ‘n behoorlike zoom lens koop!

  1. Pingback: Soms moet ‘n mens ‘n strepie trek « Slakkelak

Leave a Reply

